Volunteer Campers
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Newbie Questions

5 posters

Go down

Newbie Questions Empty Newbie Questions

Post  Climber Sat Jan 26, 2013 11:38 pm

Hey guys and gals,
I posted this on another forum but did not get much help. Hoping yall can help me out!

I have been looking around the web for a while and seem to be finding a bit of contradictory info. I am the "new" owner of a 20ft 1998 Thor Wanderer Lite. This is my first time owning a TT and only the 5th time I have ever stepped foot in one! I have no idea where to even start...
A few questions I'm pondering:

- How do I learn about how to set up the TT safely for towing? I have read the forum a bit but have no idea what a Equalizer, WD hith, etc... even means. I have a 2011 Tundra with 10K tow capacity and the TT is 2,900lbs empty. Can i just hook this to my 2" ball and take off?
- I don't have the user manual and Thor told me that this TT line was sold to Thor CA and then MVRP who has since gone out of business. Therefore, I don't know anything about setting this up to test out water, propane, AC, etc..
- The TT has some rotten wood in the corners and needs repairing. I'm wanting to tackle this myself so is it as easy as tearing off the walls and replacing? Or, should I go to a camper repair store? Is this an expensive fix?

The good news: The TT frame is in overall good shape and the shell, tires, axle, springs, etc... look very good. I'm really excited about taking on this project and hope to be able to take our two little boys out for the inaugural trip this spring!

Sorry in advance as I know this is complete newbie stuff but I am thankful for any advice or suggestions you will be willing to share.

Thanks,
Chris

Climber

Back to top Go down

Newbie Questions Empty Re: Newbie Questions

Post  chuck Sun Jan 27, 2013 12:48 pm